Favorites are a great way to help keep track of those that catch your eye. Save someone with peace-of-mind knowing that your favorites are strictly private to you, and the saved member is not notified in any way.
The reason for saving someone as a favorite is two-fold.
- Saving a member as a favorite is a great way to save them in a convenient list for quick access to their profile. Plain and simple.
- As people that you have favorited update their public profiles, you get a notice in your Activity Feed. They are updating their profiles because they want to be noticed and you are receiving the notice because you have already expressed interest (privately) by saving them as a favorite. In the real world, you would likely notice day-to-day changes among those that you cross paths with, and so as long as you have opted-in by favoriting, we give you those virtual updates when a member has changed their "online appearance."